Josh Gordon and Joe Thomas headline Browns players receiving NFL All-Pro honors

Joe Thomas

Joe ThomasThe Cleveland Browns had five Pro Bowlers nominated to make the trip to Hawaii, but that wasn’t official enough for some people who discount that honor due to fan voting. Now, the AP has selected their best players of the year using a ballot of 50 voters. The Cleveland Browns were once again well-represented.

Josh Gordon and Joe Thomas made the first team while Alex Mack, Joe Haden and T.J. Ward made the second team.

Thomas and Jason Peters were selected at tackle as Tyron Smith and Joe Staley were named second teamers. For Browns fans, Thomas’ play has been so good for so long, that this year probably felt like a down year for us. Not so for the AP voters.

At receiver, Josh Gordon shares first-team honors with Detroit’s Calvin Johnson. Those two are backed up by some impressive guys in A.J. Green, Demaryius Thomas and Antonio Brown.’s Gregg Rosenthal wasn’t as impressed with Josh Gordon.

Gordon led the league in receiving, but is he really the second best receiver in the league? No one would take him as a complete player compared to Gordon. I’d take Brown over Gordon this year too. This was a fantasy football pick.

Haden was beat out by Richard Sherman and Patrick Peterson at the cornerback slot for the first team while Mack was beat out by Ryan Kalil at offensive line, and Ward was edged by Earl Thomas and Eric Berry at safety.

All in all a good year for the Browns in terms of recognition, especially considering the way their record turned out. Of course, the prevailing question among Browns fans is if Mack and Ward will be back to try and follow up these seasons as members of the Cleveland Browns.

[Also see: Video: Josh Gordon’s 2013 highlights are fun to watch]

(Image via Rick Grayshock/WFNY)

  • Robbie S

    It’s sad to think that we are going to lost 2 2nd teamers this off-season.

  • Mike P

    Gregg Rosenthal
    Gordon had to play with Campbell, Weeden, and Hoyer.
    That’s some ridiculous numbers to put up in 14 games. He deserves it.

    I think I remember mentioning TJ Ward as a top 3 safety around these parts and getting laughed at?

    Guess I was right.

  • CB Everett

    Agreed. Herculean task to put up what Gordon did in 14 games…not to mention having to do it with the assistance of (or hindrance?) the likes of Weeden & Campbell.

  • JHop

    That’s ok, we’re getting Johnny Manziel! (/sarcasm)

  • The_Real_Shamrock

    I’ll call Gordon the second best WR when he does it again next year. That being said he had an amazing season especially when you consider who he had throwing him the ball.

  • The_Real_Shamrock

    Down down down vote!!!!!!!

  • Bourn, Michael Bourn

    He may not be the second best receiver now, but he performed like a top 2 receiver this year, so he deserves 1st team all pro.

    Funny how Rosenthal equated Gordon’s success to fantasy football, then said he’d take Antonio Brown. No GM in the league would take Brown over Gordon (if you dismissed the suspension red flag).

  • saggy

    that’s a crappy argument. it’s not about being the 2nd best WR, it’s about having the best (or 2nd best) season as a WR. All-Pro isn’t a lifetime achievement award.

    Is AJ Green a better receiver? Maybe. But did he have a better year than Gordon, who broke NFL receiving records? NO.

    Josh Gordon had the best year of any WR so he is an all-pro. That’s it. I don’t care what happens next season. But, if Gordon actually gets a pro QB (and plays 16 games) there is a legit chance we see 2.000 yards. (and i think that would garner all-pro accolades again)

  • saggy

    and that wasn’t a “Rock Bottom” downtick

  • The_Real_Shamrock

    I never said he didn’t deserve to be a first team All-Pro I’m simply saying that he is not the second best WR in the NFL simply because of one season. I want to see him do it again. Ya know kinda like if a Cleveland team won a championship and people started saying they were the best ever blah blah blah. No you were the best that year and until you do it again that’s all. Especially given how long it’s taken between championships, in any sport.